Press Contact:

Christopher Diebel Director of Public Affairs 515.246.1701 (O) 515.778.8708 (M) cdiebel@iowabusinesscouncil.org



For Immediate Release: December 16, 2020

Iowa Business Council Elects Officers and Welcomes New Members Retiring Members Honored for Their Statewide Leadership

Des Moines, IA - The Iowa Business Council (IBC) has elected its 2021-22 slate of officers. The influential group of statewide business leaders will continue the organization's work to elevate Iowa's long-term economic vitality and serve as catalysts for growth as the state emerges from the pandemic. The new board leadership includes:

- Chair: Tim Yaggi, President & CEO of Pella Corporation
- Vice Chair: Phil Jasper, President Mission Systems at Collins Aerospace
- Treasurer: John Sorensen, President & CEO of Iowa Banker's Association
- Secretary: Joe Murphy, Iowa Business Council Executive Director

The IBC also thanked retiring members Mary Andringa (Vermeer Corporation), John Forsyth (Wellmark) Steve Lacy (Meredith Corporation) and Susan Thompson (Unity Point) for their statewide leadership.

"As lowans collectively rebuild from the impacts of the pandemic, the IBC is well-positioned to drive proactive discussions between policymakers and stakeholders in the business community to ensure Iowa bounces back stronger than ever," remarked Tim Yaggi. Adding, "It is an honor to follow in the footsteps of our outgoing chair Mary Andringa. We thank her for years of proactive leadership."

Additionally, the organization formally voted to welcome the following incoming members:

- Jason Andringa, President & CEO of Vermeer Corporation
- Cory Harris, President & COO/CEO-Elect of Wellmark
- Tom Harty, President & CEO of Meredith Corporation

"The Iowa Business Council has benefited tremendously from the collective wisdom of Mary Andringa, John Forsyth, Steve Lacy and Susan Thompson. We appreciate their service to the organization and the state of Iowa," explains IBC Executive Director Joe Murphy. "While these individuals will be missed, we look forward to working with the new leadership team in the years ahead," he adds.

For more information on the IBC and to access its research and data, please visit www.lowaBusinessCouncil.org.

###

About the Iowa Business Council

The lowa Business Council (IBC) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization whose 22 members are the chief decision-makers of major lowa employers. One in six jobs in lowa are tied to an IBC company. IBC member companies have invested billions of dollars of capital in lowa's commercial infrastructure; lead the way in technology innovation, R&D, and grants procured; and are often the driving financial and volunteer forces behind philanthropic efforts all over the state.

IBC member companies include: Ruan Transportation Management Systems; Vermeer Corporation; Iowa Bankers Association; Alliant Energy; Casey's General Stores, Inc.; Collins Aerospace; Corteva Agriscience; Deere & Company; Fareway; HNI Corporation; Hy-Vee, Inc., Kent Corporation; Mercy Health Network; Meredith Corporation; MidAmerican Energy Company; Pella Corporation; Principal; The Weitz Company; The University of Iowa Health Care; UnityPoint Health; Wellmark Blue Cross Blue Shield of Iowa; and Wells Enterprises, Inc.